Agricultural Marketing Service
   
 
Newsroom
 
News Release

Printable version

USDA Issues Final Decision on Amendments to all Federal Milk Orders

Release No. 01710


Becky Unkenholz (202) 720-8998
becky.unkenholz@ams.usda.gov
Billy Cox 202-720-8998
billy.cox@ams.usda.gov


WASHINGTON, Feb. 26, 2010 The U.S. Department of Agriculture today issued a final decision to amend the producer-handler definition in all federal milk marketing orders. These amendments were considered in a recommended decision published Oct. 21, 2009.


This decision amends the producer-handler definition of all federal milk marketing orders to limit exemption from pooling and pricing provisions of the orders to those producer-handlers with total route disposition and sales of packaged fluid milk products to other plants of 3 million pounds or less per month.


These amendments are subject to producer approval before they can be implemented on a permanent basis. The final decision amends all federal milk marketing orders. Each amended federal order must be approved either by two-thirds of producers supplying milk to the federal order or by producers who supply two-thirds of the milk to that order. If approved, USDA will issue a final rule.


For additional information about the decision contact:


Northeast: Erik F. Rasmussen
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 51478, Boston, MA 02205-1478
Tel. (617) 737-7199;
email: erasmussen@fedmilk1.com


Appalachian: Harold H. Friedly, Jr.
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 91528, Louisville, KY 40291-0528
Tel. (502) 499-0040;
email: friedly@malouisville.com


Florida and Southeast: Sue L. Mosley
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1550 North Brown Road, Suite 120, Lawrenceville, GA 30043
Tel. (770) 682-2501;
email: smosley@fmmatlanta.com


Upper Midwest: H. Paul Kyburz
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1600 West 82nd Street, Suite 200 Minneapolis, MN 55431-1420
Tel. (952) 831-5292;
email: pkyburz@fmma30.com


Central: David C. Stukenberg
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 14650, Shawnee Mission, KS 66285-4650
Tel. (913) 495-9300;
email: David.Stukenberg@fmmacentral.com


Mideast: Paul A. Huber
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 5102, Brunswick, OH 44212
Tel. (330) 225-4758;
email: phuber@fmmaclev.com


Pacific Northwest and Arizona: James R. Daugherty
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1930-220th St., SE., Suite 102 Bothell, WA 98021-8471
Tel. (425) 487-6009;
email: jdaugherty@fmmaseattle.com


Southwest: Cary Hunter
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 110939, Carrollton, TX 75011-0939
Tel. (972) 245-6060;
email: sw.order@dallasma.com
 
Resources
 
  Latest Releases  
 
  Public Affairs Staff